Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Thirsty Whale Tavern. We'd love to have your feedback!

Bar Harbor

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

Which dish or item did you try?

You are submitting your information to Thirsty Whale Tavern and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. By submitting, you agree to the Popmenu and .

Our Latest Reviews

Amanda 27 days ago

Fresh Haddock Fish-n-Chips

I live in Connecticut. My fiancé and I camp in Maine once a year. All of our meals are campfire meals except 2, both of which are at the Thirsty Whale to eat the haddock and chips. It's the best fish and chips I've had in New England, so much so, we don't eat fish and chips anywhere else now. The freshness and flavor of the haddock is incredible, only to be surpassed by the staff who are super friendly and quick to seat us. We always look forward to our haddock and chips. It's been a 4-year tradition that we plan to uphold as long as the thirsty whale serves up this delicious dish! Worth noting, they make a mean boneless buffalo chicken strip appetizer too! All around a can't miss in Bar Harbor Maine!

Anne about 1 month ago

Fisherman's Plate

The best fried seafood on the island, hands down! We come here to get our seafood fix and have never been disappointed. Good prices, fast service, they never let us down.

Nicole about 1 month ago

Pub Burger

My kids order the pub burger every time we go. It is a huge burger, cooked right every time, and they love it.

Nicole about 1 month ago

Chicken Fingers

I love the chicken fingers with the whale salad! They are always cooked well, moist and never greasy.

Salomon about 1 month ago

Blackened Grilled Wild Caught Alaskan Salmon Sandwich

A must have when dining at the Whale. It's been my go-to for over a decade.

Deborah about 2 months ago

Fresh Haddock Fish-n-Chips

It's a winner! This was the 3rd time bringing it to my dad. All 3 times he has enjoyed the meal! Now that is a rare treat for me. Thank you!!!

Deborah about 2 months ago

Seafood Sampler

My father is tough critic when it comes to seafood. He enjoyed his entire meal & one of the rare times he didn't ask me to take the leftovers home with me.

David about 2 months ago

Pub Burger

The burger was cooked to my liking and the bacon was the crowing glory. I travel 600 miles for this burger. It's the best I have ever had.

Louvain 2 months ago

Fisherman's Plate

My husband and I both had the Fisherman's Plate. We first had the plate many years ago when we first dined at the Thirsty Whale, and we have had it every year that we have come back to Bar Harbor. The breading is very light and the quantity is plentiful. Paired with the Whale Salad, it is a very delicious meal.

Erica 2 months ago

Blackened Fish Sandwich with New England Clam Chowder

So good we returned the next day to have it again! Surely a meal you do not want to miss on your next visit to the area. We enjoyed sitting at the bar and the bartender what very friendly. Cannot wait to go again!

Lacyrick001 3 months ago

Fried Shrimp

Local review here. Best shrimp on the island!!!

Griera4 3 months ago

Fisherman's Plate

If you want the perfect variety of fried seafood, order this. I've been eating from the Whale for over 10 years. This tried-and-true classic never fails to leave me unsatisfied, no questions asked. -Andrew

Corey 3 months ago

Downeast Cider

Very Tasty

Richard 3 months ago

Pub Burger

Great place. Pub burger was the bomb. My wife ate the bacon, chedder grilled chicken. Again awesome. Please stop by or they have a great takeout and enjoy in your room.

Heather 3 months ago

Pub Burger

The Pub Burger is huge and delicious. It was cooked perfectly and the toppings were super fresh. After being active all day, it was the perfect meal.

Diane 3 months ago

Blackened Fried Fish-n-Chips

We ate at the Thirsty Whale 3 times on our recent visit to Bar Harbor in mid-August!!! Loved, loved, loved all of the items we ate: blackened haddock fish n chips, clam chowder, burgers, chicken tenders and fish tacos, even the blood orange margaritas! What a variety! This was the 3rd time we've been to Bar Harbor area for vacation and your food is consistently the best every year!

Erich 3 months ago

Fried Haddock Sandwich with Clam Chowder

Excellent as always. Best clam chowda in Bar Harbor

Lindsay 4 months ago

Blackened Wild Caught Alaskan Salmon

This was delicious! It has a bit of kick to it, and was absolutely delicious! Highly recommend!

Awalicat60 4 months ago

Lobster Roll served with Chowder

My boyfriend took me to Maine for the first time last December of 2019. I had always wanted to try a lobster roll and NO ONE was open but then we found the Thirsty Whale. Praise the lobster gods because they had a lobster roll and clam chowder that was absolutely insanely INCREDIBLE. We went twice because the food was so good and the bartender was so nice. I'm still craving the lobster roll and we definitely will make the 8 hour trek to come back!! :)

Laurainbh 4 months ago

Garden Burger

Amazing garden burger! The sauce compliments the burger wonderfully!. Spot on! Best veggie burger in town.

Christa about 1 month ago

Not So Traditional Buffalo Chicken Sandwich

This sandwich is absolutely THE BEST! The portion is huge and of high quality - I always have leftovers - and the sauce is a perfect mix of spicy and sweet. Without hesitation it is always our go-to and never disappoints!

Djhrick about 1 month ago

Bowl of New England Chowder

We come to the Thirsty Whale every time we travel to Maine. I chose the bowl of New England Clam Chowder over some of the other amazing menu items , like fried clams and their amazing yeast rolls, because it is just that good. It is really the perfect clam chowder - creamy, clammy, buttery, yummy. And I have tried clam chowders all over - including my mother's excellent chowder. Thirsty Whale's is THE BEST!

Nicole about 1 month ago

French Fries

I love the thick cut fries at the Whale.

Stanikjea about 1 month ago

Fried Haddock Sandwich

My fiancé and I had: The seafood sampler, clam chowder, lobster roll, haddock sandwiche, blueberry margarita, and supernova cocktail. Everything was absolutely AMAZING! We are so happy we stopped here.. between the amazing drinks and foods, adorable lighted beer garden and 80s music playing on the speaker, we had the best time. Thank you for your hospitality! From Jess and Kris from Connecticut. We will be back!

Skip1 about 1 month ago

Fried Maine Whole Belly Clams

I am a local person and have gone there many many times. The Fried Clam app. Are great. Very large serving size & worth the money. I have fried clams elsewhere, These are the best I have ever had. In 20 plus years I have been going there I never have been a over cooked batch! They do it right! But don't miss the Whale Salad or Haddock Sandwich or Chowder.

Deborah about 2 months ago

Blackened Fried Fish-n-Chips

This was the 1st time getting the blackened haddock; I loved it!! It is on my favorite list. The whaler salad option is great too.

David about 2 months ago

Grilled Cheese

The bread makes this sandwich special, but the while package is something you need to have once. It is perfection.

Robert 2 months ago

Blackened Fish Sandwich with New England Clam Chowder

Not to be missed! The blackened haddock sandwich with a cup of New England clam chowder was the perfect finish to warm our spirits on a blustery fall day!

Tom 2 months ago

Fisherman's Plate

...what a bargain...and so good...TW is best place to dine in town...

Gabriellemcatee 2 months ago

Fried Haddock Sandwich

Fresh, clean hand battered. LARGE... 'YUGE. good tartar sauce. Awesome. Came to bar harbor and ended up in flavortown, USA 🇺🇸

Karenpanpep 3 months ago

Fresh Haddock Fish-n-Chips

Wonderful ! One of the best fish & chips I've had! The batter was light & the fish tasty & hot. Fries excellent too. Service was attentive & friendly.

Corey 3 months ago

Lobster Roll

The very best Lobster Roll I've ever had!

Dianne 3 months ago

Caesar Salad

I've never had anything less than perfect food and service at the Whale!

Turan 3 months ago

Southwest Burger

Per-fect! Just one word, I loved everything whatever inside and also I would definitely gonna meet with whoever cooked that.. Those comments are before I eat the burger but I have some friends who mentioned those things to me that means you guys doing really good job, I won't be hungry in 30 minutes I guess and I will be so happy. Thank you so much!! Love you guys (will)!!

Kelley 3 months ago

Caesar Salad

I often get the Caesar salad with blackened haddock! It is delicious! Great people! Great food! Great place! Keep it up Thirsty Whale crew!❤️

Erich 3 months ago

Bowl of New England Chowder

Best in town!!

Mackmerry77 4 months ago

Blackened Fish Sandwich with New England Clam Chowder

Every year my husband and I come to Bar Harbor for vacation. And every year Thirsty Whale is a must. The blackened fish sandwich with clam chowder (and fries) is my favorite thing to get. Every. Year. Enjoy it with a blueberry cocktail (margarita? With Cold River Blueberry vodka? ALL good!) or a local brew from Atlantic Brewing or Downeast Cider. It is my favorite lunch spot. The hubs has had their fried clam platter, fish club, salads.... all great!

Laurelsgarden 4 months ago

Fried Shrimp Caesar Salad

Absolutely delicious! Perfectly golden tender little fried shrimp on a fresh, crisp salad. Perfection.

Brenda 4 months ago

Fisherman's Plate

Awesome food

Connie 4 months ago

Pub Burger

Excellent find!!!!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA