Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Thirsty Whale Tavern. We'd love to have your feedback!

Bar Harbor

Type to search our menu...

You are submitting your information to Thirsty Whale Tavern and Popmenu, which powers this site and is sponsoring this giveaway. Popmenu's and apply.

Our Latest Reviews

Mercedes 25 days ago

Fried Maine Whole Belly Clams

I had the fried fisherman's starter with shrimp, scallops, whole belly clams, and haddock served with tartar and cocktail sauce on the side. My food arrived hot and fresh within a very reasonable amount of time especially given how busy they were delicious. The portion was incredibly generous considering it was a starter and included 6 (!) scallops, a dozen clams, at least a dozen Maine shrimp, and a couple of pieces of haddock. I also had the Whale salad, a large serving of greens, olives, feta cheese, red onions, with dressing on the side. The service was attentive, professional, as well as very personable, we felt like locals on our first visit. Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed!

Thompsonsabrina1 3 months ago

Blackened Chicken Sandwich

Staff is super friendly and the food is delicious as well. Great atmosphere, will be back!

Justinnasp35 3 months ago

Lobster Roll served with New England Clam Chowder or Lobster Bisque

Absolutely amazing atmosphere, great menu selections of food, local and regional brews. Definitely will be on my list for a return visit as soon as I'm back in Bar Harbor. 5 Stars!

Guest 4 months ago

Grilled Chicken Salad

This salad is a favorite with us … my husband orders it with the fried chicken and I order it with the grilled chicken. It never disappoints. Delicious both ways .. my mouth waters just thinking about it.❤️

Eamonjkeating 6 months ago

Southwest Burger

This Burger is top of the line ! So juicy and loaded with toppings. I almost.....almost couldn't finish it, but it was too good not to. See you again soon!

Amanda 2 months ago

Blackened Fried Fish-n-Chips

Hey you! Are you searching for a good place to eat in Bar Harbor/Acadia? STOP NOW! The Thirsty Whale is THE BEST place for amazing food. I've yet to have anything off their menu I didn't like. Tried their broiled cheese curd special - amazing! The clam chowder? Awesome! The haddock fish and chips was so good I actually went back to have it a second time in the week I was in Acadia. The second time I tried the blackened version - phenomenal! The waiters I had both times were extremely helpful and quick. I really can't say enough good things about this place. The whole experience was great, and I can't recommend this place enough!

Katherinemhouseman 3 months ago

Blackened Fried Fish-n-Chips

I love the blackened fish and chips! They are a staple every time I go to bar Harbor. The seasoning is a bit spicy and smoky and the crunch with the fresh haddock is mouth watering. I can't recommend the fish and chips enough.

Jgarner1868 3 months ago

Fresh Haddock Fish-n-Chips

If you love fried fish, you'll find no better than The Thirsty Whale's Fried Haddock Fish-n-Chips. The Haddock is perfectly breaded without a too-much-breading-to-fish ration like you get with other places and the fillets are thick! The Chips are always nice and crispy. If you're 21+ I suggest an Amber Ale or Stout from Atlantic Brewery to wash it down. The bottles are always ice cold and frosty!

Jsoukup1963 4 months ago

Fisherman's Plate

Every thing was cooked to perfection and great service we eat there when ever were in Bar Harbor

Mitchfam4 7 months ago

Blackened Fried Haddock Sandwich

The blackened fried haddock sandwich is the best haddock sandwich I've ever eaten.....Period! I live in New Hampshire and work in the Boston area. I've eaten fried haddock sandwiches all over New England and none compare. Wash this down with one of their blueberry margaritas...... perfection! You cant visit MDI without checking out the Whale!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

June 2022:
Lawrence, O'Ya Cantina
Chapel Hill, NC

May 2022:
David, Grillsmith
Sarasota, FL

April 2022:
Katie, Jelly Cafe
Denver, CO

March 2022:
Marny, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

February 2022:
Teresa, Black Angus
Vancouver, BC

January 2022:
Deirdre, White Pie
Colorado Springs, CO

December 2021:
Camille, Patsy's Roadhouse
Hopewell Junction, NY

November 2021:
Sherry, Riverpark Pub and Eatery
Parkville, MO

October 2021:
Stephanie, Hightopps Backstage Grille
Timonium, MD

September 2021:
Megan, Scratch Kitchen & Taproom
Apex, NC

August 2021:
Jerome, Taste of Soul by Ms. Nancy
Burlington, NJ

July 2021:
The Great Greek, NV

June 2021:
Sylvia, Urth Caffé
Los Angeles, CA 

May 2021:
Amber, Haute Dogs and Fries
Alexandria, VA

April 2021:
Travis, El Monumento
Georgetown, TX

March 2021:
Susan, Alden Park
Plymouth, MA

February 2021:
Leilani, Hon Machi Korean BBQ
San Antonio, TX

January 2021:
Goodrich Seafood & Oyster House

December 2020:
Hallee, Pizza Sociale
Los Angeles, CA

November 2020:
Barbara, PPC Italian Restaurant
Plaistow, NH

October 2020:
Charn, Vitaly
Costa Mesa, CA

September 2020:
Carol, Stroud's BBQ
Daytona Beach Shores, FL

August 2020:
Jo-El, Mick's All American
Mount Joy, PA 

July 2020:
Bronson, Los Dos Potrillos 
Colorado

June 2020:
Elish, Crump's Landing
Homosassa, FL

May 2020:
Carlson, Papi Grande's Mexican
Amherst, NY

April 2020:
Sommer, Little Calf Creamery 
Thousand Oaks, CA

March 2020:
Theresa, Woody's Crab House
North East, MD

February 2020:
Maria, The Rustik Fork
Riverside, CA

January 2020:
Marsha, Stefano's Restaurant
Florence, SC

December 2019:
Alma, Karai Ramen Bistro
Jacksonville, FL

November 2019:
Courtney, Axe & Arrow
Seattle, WA

October 2019:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co.
Portland, OR

September 2019:
Amanda, Home Restaurant
Los Angeles, CA

August 2019:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill
Columbus, GA

July 2019:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet
Buffalo, NY

June 2019:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar
Cape Cod, MA

May 2019:
Karen, This Little Pig
Amherst, NY

April 2019:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria
Atlanta, GA